How Meta Muse shops: what is documented and what is guessed
Meta has published nothing on how Muse ranks products. Here is the line between what Meta, Shopify, OpenAI and Google confirm, what first-hand tests saw (3 of 7 deal prompts worked), and which claims are vendor inference.
Viren Inaniyan · September 26, 2026 · AI Agent Storefronts
Meta has said how Muse pays and who fulfils the order. It has said nothing about how Muse decides which product goes on the card. Here is the line between what is documented, what testers saw, and what vendors are guessing.
Last updated: 26 September 2026.
Meta has not published how Muse ranks products. Documented: Muse shops through its browser, searches Shopify Catalog for Shopify stores, keeps conversations out of Meta's ad systems, and has no ad product announced. Everything else is observation or vendor inference.
What Meta has confirmed
Meta ships three things called Muse: Muse the agent, launched 8 September 2026; Muse Spark, the model underneath it; and Muse Image, the July image model. This post is about the agent.
The launch post says Muse "can open a browser, fill out forms, and negotiate", and "doesn't share a person's conversations or the data in their VM with Meta's ad systems" (Meta Newsroom, 8 September 2026). Connectors are apps the user chooses: "Connect your email, calendar, Instagram and more apps you use daily" (Meta, ai.meta.com/muse, read 26 September 2026).
On money: "All orders are fulfilled by the merchant that you purchase from" (Meta Help Center, updated about 23 September 2026). At Connect, Zuckerberg said Meta expects that "over time we will profit by taking a small fee from transactions" (Medianama, 24 September 2026). No primary source says who pays, at what rate, or from when, and he did not use the word advertising (Digiday, 25 September 2026).
Nothing from Meta says how Muse chooses between two products, whether it weights price, reviews, availability or brand, or whether a retailer can pay for position; Medianama filed both under "What Meta did not say" (Medianama, 24 September 2026). On social history: "A user's own Facebook, Instagram, WhatsApp or Threads history is not mentioned anywhere in the announcement" (Medianama, 9 September 2026). We track these gaps on Meta AI and Muse for brands.
The Shopify Catalog path is documented, the ranking is not
For Shopify stores, one more thing is on the record. Muse "searches Shopify Catalog to find the best match" (Shopify on X, 8 September 2026). Catalog carries "title, description, options, images, price, availability, and other key attributes", and relevance "also depends on other signals such as popularity, customer engagement, and brand recognition" (Shopify Help Center, read 26 September 2026).
Then the caveat that matters: AI channels "often re-rank results based on their own logic" (Shopify Help Center, read 26 September 2026). Shopify neither controls nor publishes what Muse does with those results. It also states "There are no fees associated with selling in Meta's direct checkout" (Shopify Help Center, read 26 September 2026). The admin switches and checkout exclusions are in Meta Muse for merchants. Stores off Shopify have no Catalog path; Muse reaches them by browsing.
What first-hand tests saw
| Reported behaviour | Source |
|---|---|
| "a catalog search and wider web sweep", with stale prices | MBI Deep Dives, 9 September 2026 |
| Price filtering across three brand sites, a five-card shortlist, one site returning a 404 | Retailgentic, 8 September 2026 |
| "Muse found a $20 off and processed my order with a stripe link!" | Retailgentic, 15 September 2026 |
| 3 of 7 deal prompts worked; coupon sweep, budget cap and price-watch failed | Tom's Guide, 26 September 2026 |
| A licence-number gate at one supplier; Target blocked autonomous clicks at checkout | CNN, 23 September 2026 |
Three patterns, none a ranking method. Muse browses and compares across merchant sites, including "OXO's own website and Walmart" once Amazon was closed to it (The Verge, 23 September 2026). It reads visible prices and discounts. It stops where a site stops it. In the four-agent test, Muse completed the Greenies order while another agent picked the wrong size variant (Retailgentic, 15 September 2026). The Amazon side is in Amazon blocks Meta Muse.
No tester reported anything labelled sponsored: "There are no ads in Muse" (aiadeconomy, 10 September 2026), and "nothing coming out of the company suggests otherwise" (Digiday, 25 September 2026).
What vendors are guessing
None of these is sourced to Meta.
| Claim | Who | What it rests on |
|---|---|---|
| "Muse browses the open web to discover and compare products"; work the 5 C's (Completeness, Context, Citations, Correctness, Customer Acquisition) | Azoma, 24 September 2026 | Browsing matches Meta's description; the 5 C's link to ranking is Azoma's inference |
| Tracking Muse Spark "is the closest approximation brands have to estimate their performance in Muse" | Peec AI, 23 September 2026 | Peec's own word, "approximation"; the model is not the agent |
| Muse "reads structured data such as titles, specifications, and reviews" | DesignRush, 25 September 2026 | No source given |
| A sponsored-alternatives slot beside Muse's answer | Digiday, 25 September 2026 | A format the authors imagine, labelled as such |
Profound, Rankly, Nudge, Wildcard, Catalog and Swap Commerce had published no Muse-specific claim as of 26 September 2026. Agency talk of advertising "to ensure our brand is the one that gets picked by Muse" (Farhad Divecha, AccuraCast, via Digiday, 25 September 2026) describes what Meta might build, not what Muse does today.
How Meta's silence compares with ChatGPT and Google
| ChatGPT | Google AI Mode | Meta Muse | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Ranking rule published | Yes: "availability, price, quality, and whether they are the maker or primary seller" (OpenAI Help Center, 2026) | No; scale only, "more than 50 billion product listings" (Google, 13 November 2025) | No |
| Ads in shopping answers | Results "are not ads, nor influenced by any OpenAI partnerships" (OpenAI Help Center, 2026) | "Direct Offers" ads pilot inside AI Mode (Google, 11 January 2026) | None announced |
| Native checkout affects rank | "Instant Checkout items are not preferred" (OpenAI Help Center, 2026) | Not stated | Not stated |
On fees, OpenAI charged Shopify merchants 4% on ChatGPT checkout (The Information via PYMNTS, 21 January 2026) and retired it in March (CNBC, 24 March 2026); Meta's "small fee" has no payer, rate or date (Medianama, 24 September 2026). ChatGPT has told merchants what it weighs; Google, what it ingests and that it is testing paid placement; Meta, what Muse can do and nothing about weighting. Every Muse-specific optimisation method is therefore inference, whoever sells it.
What to fix regardless
These hold under any ranking, because they decide whether an agent can read and finish.
Fill the fields Catalog reads. Put size, shade and pack count in options, not in a paragraph; the wrong-variant order above is the failure this prevents. The general version is in optimising your product catalog for AI.
Make the visible price the real price. Testers saw stale prices (MBI Deep Dives, 9 September 2026) and a 404 (Retailgentic, 8 September 2026). Muse compares what it can see.
Make checkout finishable by an agent. The failures on record are a licence-number gate and a checkout that blocked autonomous clicks (CNN, 23 September 2026). Meta names two payment paths, a Link one-time card or the shopper's saved card via login; how each lands in your order record is in how Meta Muse pays. Enable agentic checkout is the product we run this on.
Count the orders you cannot see. Shopify attributes Meta-surface orders to Meta and fires no browser pixels in that checkout (Shopify Help Center, read 26 September 2026). They land in the reporting gap we measured for MyMuse; the mechanics are in dark agentic commerce traffic.
Do not buy a ranking nobody has. Treat any Muse-specific ranking method as a hypothesis until Meta documents one.
Where Tru Commerce fits
We have run this on Gray Porter and a group of US DTC brands: we made the product pages and checkout readable and finishable by an agent, then placed a real Muse order on the store. If you want the same run on your store, book a demo.
FAQ
Meta has not published a method. Documented inputs are a full browser, Shopify Catalog for Shopify stores, and Connectors the user switches on (Meta; Shopify, September 2026). Testers saw catalog search, open-web comparison and visible-price filtering. Shopify says the channel re-ranks on its own logic.
No ad product is announced. Meta says "your conversations are not shared with Meta's ad systems" (ai.meta.com/muse, 2026), and revenue is subscriptions plus "a small fee from transactions" over time (Zuckerberg via Medianama, 24 September 2026). No tester reported anything labelled sponsored.
Not today. Meta has announced no paid placement and did not answer whether retailers pay for position (Medianama, 24 September 2026). Digiday's sponsored-alternatives slot is a format its authors imagined (Digiday, 25 September 2026). As of 26 September 2026 there is no Meta product behind any placement offer.
Meta describes Instagram as a Connector the user switches on (ai.meta.com/muse, 2026). Nothing from Meta says Facebook, Instagram, WhatsApp or Threads history feeds product selection; Medianama noted the omission (9 September 2026). Conversations and VM data are not shared with Meta's ad systems (Meta Newsroom, 8 September 2026).
Sources
- 1.Introducing Muse: The World's First Personal AI Agent Built for Everyone - Meta Newsroom, 2026
- 2.Muse features page - Meta, 2026
- 3.How Muse works with payments - Meta Help Center, 2026
- 4.Selling on Meta - Shopify Help Center, 2026
- 5.Managing agentic storefronts - Shopify Help Center, 2026
- 6.Shopping with ChatGPT search - OpenAI Help Center, 2026
- 7.Agentic commerce tools for retailers - Google, 2026
- 8.Meta Muse will earn from transaction fees, not ads - Medianama, 2026
- 9.Part 1 of 2: personal shopping agents - Retailgentic, 2026
- 10.I tried turning Meta's Muse AI into my personal shopper. Only 3 of 7 prompts actually worked - Tom's Guide, 2026
- 11.Future of Marketing Briefing: Imagining the ad business hiding inside Meta's Muse - Digiday, 2026
- 12.What tools help brands optimize for Meta Muse - Azoma via GlobeNewswire, 2026
Continue reading
September 26, 2026
Meta Muse in India: when it lands, what it will meet
Meta Muse is live in the US and Canada, not India, with no date or waitlist. A launch here will meet CERT-In's human-in-the-loop line, NPCI's paused agent protocol and two conflicting UPI caps. What Indian D2C brands should do now.
September 26, 2026
Meta Muse: what merchants are saying in month one
We read 53 merchant, agency and advertiser reactions to Muse in its first month: 14 positive, 24 wary, 15 negative, and not one first-hand report of a Muse order in a Shopify admin.
September 26, 2026
Meta Muse connectors: what to build, how to submit
Meta opened Muse to outside connectors on 18 September 2026 and counted over 2,000 submissions within days. The two connector classes in Meta's words, the three-step submission, and what a merchant connector should carry that Shopify Catalog does not.